Court Establishment History

    The Kalpetta Judicial District was established on December 15, 1984, following the formation of the Wayanad District on November 1, 1980. Prior to the formation of this district, the court in this geographical region was a part of the Kozhikode and Thalasseri Judicial districts under the Kozhikode and Kannur Districts, respectively.

    Initially, only two courts were functioning in this district, namely the Kalpetta and Mananthavady courts. The Munsiff Magistrate court in Kalpetta was a part of the Kozhikode unit, while the Munsiff Magistrate court in Mananthavady was a part of the Thalassery unit.

    With the formation of the Kalpetta Judicial District, various civil and criminal courts were integrated, including the District Court, Kalpetta, Chief Judicial Magistrate’s Court, Kalpetta, Munsiff’s Court, Kalpetta, Sub Court, Sulthan Bathery, and Judicial First Class Magistrate Court, Sulthan Bathery.

    Subsequently, several more courts were established in this district, including the Munsiff Magistrate Court in Sulthan Bathery, Judicial First Class Magistrate Court in Mananthavady, Additional District and Sessions Court I / Addl MACT in Kalpetta, Additional District and Sessions Court II / Addl MACT in Kalpetta, Family Court in Kalpetta, and the Special Court for the trial of SC/ST (POA)Act cases in Mananthavady.

    Apart from these courts, the District Legal Service Authority-Kalpetta and Taluk Legal Services Committees in Vythiri, Sulthan Bathery, and Mananthavady are also functioning in this district. The District Mediation Centre in Kalpetta and Mediation sub-centers in Sulthan Bathery and Mananthavady are also operational.